Oct 17, 2006

Vote for the new seven wonders of the world

Entries range from Stonehenge to the Sydney Opera House to the Statue of Liberty.
An original list of nearly 200 sites nominated by the public was narrowed to 21 by the organisers and experts, including the former director general of Unesco Professor Federico Mayor.

The vote is organised by a non-profit Swiss foundation called New7Wonders which specialises in the preservation, restoration and promotion of monuments, and the results will be announced on July 7, 2007, in Lisbon.

Vote here for seven of the following nominees.
1 Acropolis, Athens, Greece

2 Alhambra, Granada, Spain

3 Angkor Wat temple, Cambodia

4 Chichen Itza Aztec site, Yucatan, Mexico

5 Christ the Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

6 Colosseum, Rome

7 Easter Island Statues, Chile

8 Eiffel Tower, Paris

9 Great Wall, China

10 Hagia Sophia church, Istanbul, Turkey

11 Kyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan

12 Kremlin/St.Basil's, Moscow

13 Machu Picchu, Peru

14 Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen, Germany

15 Petra ancient city, Jordan

16 Pyramids of Giza, Egypt

17 Statue of Liberty, New York

18 Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom

19 Sydney Opera House, Australia

20 Taj Mahal, Agra, India

21 Timbuktu city, Mali

Thanks to Lisa.

No comments: